‘South Punjab (Urdu, Saraiki: جنوبی پنجاب) is the southernmost region of Pakistan’s Punjab province. The districts of Bahawalpur, Multan, Rahim Yar Khan and D. G. Khan are geographically regarded as components of the region. Unlike other areas of mainland Punjab, where the Punjabis are dominant and native, the demographic make-up of southern Punjab has historically been made up of Saraiki people who speak the Saraiki language. This area is often alternatively called Saraikistan or Rohi. Sometimes, the Saraiki-concentrated districts of Bhakkar, Mianwali and D.I. Khan in Punjab are also associated with the regional belt..

Seraiki province is a hot topic in Pakistan politics today.

On the 12th of December, 2011 the PPP government under PM Yousuf Raza Gilani declared that the Seraiki province issue will be taken to the national assembly.

PM Gilani: NA to take up Seraiki province

More Links to Follow:

Seraiki province: Latest News & Developments